This Post Is Brought To You By The Letter U

I’ve been in a thinking mood today. You know those days when you finally feel better after not feeling so hot for a while? Yeah, it was that kinda day for me. I forced myself to put on something decent (jeans, button down and flip flops count, right?) and go out into the world. I’m so glad I did, or I wouldn’t have run into this wonderful guy and his sweetheart. He was just being himself in a mall where people are trying so hard to be someone they are not, and I thanked him for it. I love people who embrace who they are even when it scares the hell out of the people around them. I commend this man for wearing that shirt on a Sunday in one of the busiest malls in Orlando.  He was so sweet and kind, and he hugged me after I took his picture. I love his message and everything he stands for. Thank you, for being YOU.

I personally try to be exactly who I am everyday, but it gets difficult. Are you exactly who you are everyday?

My grandmother would have loved this

I shopped around a bit, after I met him and found a few things that make me feel exactly like myself. I’ve always collected butterflies, just like my Gram. She had an entire house full of pictures, dishes, jewelry, postcards and more covered in butterflies. Gram passed away a few months ago, taking her free spirit, grace and beauty with her. She was always a big supporter of us grand kids being ourselves, even when our parents and siblings thought we were a little crazy. She always treated us as equals, never talking down to us and always taking the time to ask us about our lives. She made us all feel important. I miss her every day. Call the person in your life who makes you feel the way my Gram made me feel. Tell them you love them for no reason at all. What do you collect? Is that collection inspired by anyone?

I just love rings, don't you?

Go out into the world this week and be EXACTLY who you are. Scare the general public. Hug your loved ones. Embrace the strange and weird in the world. Encourage the children in your lives to be themselves, as wild and carefree and creative as that may be.

Hope everyone had a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “This Post Is Brought To You By The Letter U

  1. turningheadsaustralia says:

    what a lovely post 🙂 i collect clothes. and i think its because when growing up we were a little poor and had a very controlling step dad who didn’t like spending money and therefore i didn’t get many things. as soon as i hit the age of earning my own money, shopping and collecting that one off piece of clothing just makes me so happy.

    • Nerdy Girl says:

      🙂 Thank you so much for commenting! I love clothes too. There is just something so nice about having a small collection of things you love in your home, isn’t there?

Tell us what you think!

