Whatcha Readin Wednesday: Book Lust and This Weeks Book List

If you have been paying attention, you know that I love to read. Well, love isn’t a strong enough word, but its really the only one that comes close to being correct. So, no one should be surprised to find out that I bought 6 books at the store this week. Yes, that is correct. I bought 6 books. But, in the last month, I’ve read 30 of the 35 books that were in my to be read pile. So in my twisted little brain, I earned it. Now you get to read about it. 🙂 Although, I promise, I won’t make you read about all 6…..maybe just 5. 😉

I’ll be honest with you, I picked this up strictly for the cover. Yes, I said it, I judged a book by the cover. Its such a pretty cover though, isn’t it? Well, after I picked it up I read the first couple of paragraphs, and I fell in love.

This is the first time Alice has been allowed to walk back to their campsite from the Kelp Shed alone. She is fourteen, barefoot, her sneakers tied together by the lacces slung across her shoulder so she can feel the soft, sandy dust of the single-track road between her toes. Her sister fell asleep halfway through the square dance, dropping from hyperexcited to unconscious in a flash. Her father carries Ellie draped over his shoulder, and casually, or so it seems, her mother says, “Come home when the dance is done.”

   She can hardly believe it. The dance is still in her feet, still in her bones, the steps like an intricate game. She danced with everyone and anyone at all, old and young, men and women, just to stay on the floor and moving. The caller was a blind man with two fingers missing from his left hand. His face was wrinkled and brown from the sun, his body heavy and the voice that called the strangely high and sweet. A boy’s voice in a man’s body. A boy’s wildness, as though he had no awareness of himself in his body. “

This is Laura Harrington‘s first novel, and I hope she keeps writing. I can’t stop reading this book and I don’t want it to end, even though I know, deep down inside, that it has to. I have a feeling that this will be one of those books that stick with me, and I hope that you will read it too.

  I’m always exited when I come across an author I haven’t read in a long time, and Vonnegut is no exception. I’ve been inhaling his books since I was a teenager, but I hadn’t picked one up in years.  Then, the other day at the book store, I picked this one up and didn’t look back. Here is the synopsis:

At 2:27 p.m. on February 13th of the year 2001, the Universe suffered a crisis in self-confidence. Should it go on expanding indefinitely? What was the point?

See why I like Vonnegut so much? That is the most intriguing synopsis I’ve read in a long time. And hell, who couldn’t use a good laugh these days?

    Lucy Derrick is a young woman of good breeding and poor finances. after the death of her beloved father, she becomes the unwanted boarder of her tyrannical uncle, fending off a marriage to a local mill owner. But just as she is resigned to a life of misery, a handsome stranger–the poet and notorious rake Lord Byron–arrives at her house, stricken by what seems to be a  curse, and with a cryptic message for Lucy.

     With England on the cusp of revolution, Lucy inexplicably finds herself awakened to a world where magic and mortals collide, and the forces of ancient nature and modern progress are at war for the soul of England…and the world. The key to voctory may be connected to a cryptic volume whose powers of enchantment are unbounded. Now, challenged by ruthless enemies with ancient powers at their command, Lucy must harness newfound mystical skills to preserve humanity’s future. And enthralled by two exceptional men with designs on her heart, she must master her own desires to claim the destiny she deserves.

Magic? Intrigue? Lord Byron? Uhm, Yeah, I’m down! I read A Conspiracy of Paper years ago, and I loved it. Unfortunately, though, my local store only started carrying ALL his books about a year ago, so I’m starting up again. I can’t wait to get lost in the world David Liss has created in The Twelfth Enchantment. I have a feeling, though, that there are going to be a lot of late nights in my future. 🙂

 

Ok….so I was good and only  made you read about three of the books I grabbed. Maybe next week I’ll tell you about the other three. I hope you all enjoyed this installment, and that you check these books out. You can definitely hit up www.goodreads.com to find out more about these books and authors, as well as many, many more. That is one of my favorite sites for finding information, as well as getting new recommendations. 🙂 If you have any recommendations, comments or what have you, please let me know! I love to hear from Y’all. As always, any and/or all my content can be removed at the authors request.

Hope Everyone is having or has had a great Wednesday!!

Tell us what you think!

