Something to Think About….

I found this on Pinterest this morning, and it really made me think. What would my inner child think? Considering how wild I always was, I’m pretty sure my inner child would be sorely disappointed at how boring I’ve become. I’ve been thinking about bringing some of that wildness back into my life, in a way. Maybe not AS wild as I was before (trust me, no one wants that), but letting go of the white-knuckled grip I have on the control in my life would be a good start. That fierceness to control everything is messing up all my fun and wreaking havoc on my sanity. It sets me up for failure, every time. So I’m done. Right here, right now, I’m relinquishing control.

That actually feels good. *sigh*

What about your inner child? Would he/she be disappointed?  Tell me in the comments below! 🙂

Happy Thursday!

5 thoughts on “Something to Think About….

  1. KK says:

    Your post came as a synchronicity when I was thinking on the same lines. I have been questioning myself…am I the same person I was as a kid. Or have I become what I wanted to become. And I realize my inner kid/child has got lost on the way and these days I am trying to bring back that inner kid because that is and will be the the true essence of my being.Having said that, inner kid/child needs parenting that I myself need to do so that I am a happy adult who has her child like essence intact 🙂

    • Nerdy Girl says:

      That is a great way of looking at it. I think there is a beautiful purity in letting your inner child out to play, in being creative and seeing the world in a more youthful way. How do you maintain the balance? Thank you so much for your comment, and for checking my page out! 🙂

  2. 40 is the new 13 says:

    What an interesting question. My childhood self would think I’ve become very boring. In fact, I remember telling my 11th grade boyfriend that I would never live the “ordinary” life. But, as it turns out, I’m a fairly ordinary person who’s quite happy with the way things have turned out. But the “kid me” would be screaming! Congrats on your decision to relinquish control. There’s something there for me to learn from. I look forward to checking back for more… and thanks for following my blog!

    • Nerdy Girl says:

      I love that you told your 11th grade boyfriend that you didn’t want to be’ordinary’. I know just how that feels. ‘Normal’, ‘boring’ and ‘ordinary’ were all the things I never wanted to be either. I’m so glad that you are happy with your life. So many people aren’t, or have no idea how to be happy with what they have in general.
      Ahh, control. That is going to be a process straight out of the seventh circle of hell. lol. I’ll be posting more about that soon…

      Thank you so much for commenting and for following! I look forward to checking back with your blog as well!

  3. Pete Bjorn says:

    I simply want to say I am new to blogging and seriously loved you’re web site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You surely have remarkable article content. Regards for sharing with us your website.

Tell us what you think!

