What A Day….!

birthday

The lovely banner you see above was made for me by the LOVELY SweetJellyBean of www.sweetjellybean.com (that is her Facebook page, like her there then go follow her blog!) She truly is wonderful and becoming a great friend of mine. πŸ™‚ In fact, she invited me to join the Girls Inspired Group on Facebook.Β  Its a great group of girls (and at least one guy) who work together to keep each other inspired to create, keep each other laughing, and work together to promote each other. We also celebrate each others triumphs and big events all across the world. So come on in, take a look around, and join us for some fun!

Today started out with the lovely surprise banner in my email, and some left over chocolate cake. What? Its MY birthday, I can eat whatever I want for breakfast. πŸ˜› Then, slowly, I managed to get myself dressed and ready for lunch with my family. I always kind of dread my birthday, and, as I’ve gotten older, my dread has gotten a little worse. Lunch was great though. We went to a great local seafood place near my parents house and had a nice time.

My favorite part of the day though, is what I’m doing right now. I’m currently sitting on my couch, hanging out in my pjs with my slippers on, watching Christmas movies. Yeah, I said it. I’ll even tell you what channel I’m watching. I’m flipping between Hallmark, Lifetime, and AMC. There, I said it. I LOVE the silly, heartwarming, ridiculously cheesy holiday movies on those channels.Β  AMC isn’t as full of cheese as the other two, it has all the awesome classic movies, like Holiday Inn and We’re No Angels (Humphrey Bogart is just dreamy…and Holiday Inn (which he isn’t in, unfortunately) is one of my FAVORITES). I made pizza for dinner and I’ll be having peppermint hot chocolate with whipped cream in a bit. My tree is decorated (I’ll do a post about my decor tomorrow) and the lights make everything sparkle just a little more. πŸ™‚

All in all, it wasn’t a terrible day. I didn’t look too bad today either, and that helps a lot. πŸ™‚ Dressing up a little, even if its just for lunch with the family, always makes me feel better about myself. πŸ™‚

I guess 31 doesn't look so bad. ;)

I guess 31 doesn’t look so bad. πŸ˜‰

I picked up that dress on sale on Anthropologie a few weeks ago, pulled the cardigan out of my ‘winter’ drawer, dug out a belt I picked up at Target a few summers ago, and paired it all with a cute pair of flower printed peep toes I had sitting in a box on a shelf. Finally an outfit to wear those shoes with! I’ve been working out a lot, and I’m incredibly proud to announce that I hit my goal for this year. I started out this year a size 16, and that dress you see me in up there is a size 12 in December. πŸ™‚ I’m going to be sneaking in a new workout/motivation post each week, in an attempt to keep myself motivated and maybe help someone else along as well.

For now though, I’m going to make some peppermint hot cocoa and veg out with my holiday movies. I hope everyone had a great Sunday!

 

7 thoughts on “What A Day….!

  1. Donah D. Sweetjellybean says:

    Aww Deb, you look gorgeous! And congratulations on meeting your goal! I’m glad you had a fab birthday and that peppermint hot cocoa sounds delicious! Thank you for the lovely mention and a shout out of our group! Love having you there! Definitely share some workout/motivation post, I’d love to read it and perhaps it will make me move my butt to finally exercise ahhaha. xx

    • Nerdy Girl says:

      Thank you so much D!!! You guys have been so good to me, and I’m so happy to a part of the group! πŸ™‚ I promise, one of these days, I’ll be able to take the time out to do some fun stuff with/for the group. Most likely after the holidays. πŸ™‚ You know, when it comes to sneaking in a workout, all you have to do is load up that little guy of yours and go for a brisk walk. πŸ˜€ The both of you will love it! But I’ll post more about that tomorrow afternoon. πŸ™‚

      • Donah D. Sweetjellybean says:

        Yohoo, will look out for that post hun! Yes, I’ve been going into town without the pushchair and just carrying AJ. He’s one heavy bean hahah but it’s all good and we enjoy it a lot! I’m glad that you’re happy being a part of us.

Tell us what you think!

