Searching for: Inner Peace, Motivation, and the Bottom of My Closet

Am I the only one that is glad 2013 is over? What a terrible year! Don’t get me wrong, there were some awesome things about it: I met a whole lot of amazing new people, had some interesting and some awesome new experiences, started a new job and resolved to be better in the new year.

I spent much of the last few months digging for some motivation to come back to this blog and run it like I did when I first began. I spent a lot of time thinking about new things to talk about, different ways of interacting with my readers, and keeping things fresh and new.  Oh, and not conforming to what a lot of other people want me to do. I don’t like to be like everyone else. Its not in me to just write about makeup and clothes…but it is in me to write about EVERYTHING that interests me.

So, I’m back. Thanks for sticking around. For those of you that have sent me emails, I really appreciate you. I had no idea how many people liked this blog until nerdy girls of all ages began introducing themselves to me in restaurants, bars, clothing stores, and grocery stores. You all inspire me every day to come back and write…to create…and most of all, you’ve all inspired me to be myself.



Inner peace has been a whole lot harder to capture. 2013 really dragged me through the ringer, so I’m working to make sure 2014 doesn’t do the same thing. Part of what gets me closer to inner peace is writing and since I’ve neglected that part of myself one of my big goals for this year is to nurture my creative side as often as I can. Every day, actually.

I worked hard last year to cut out all the negative people who were influencing my life. I think I managed to…though, in life there are always a few people who like to pop back up at the WORST times to make things interesting. I want this year to be positive, creative and successful.

I’ve learned that there is no reason not to go head first after the things you want in life. When I hold myself back, I don’t succeed, so why should I hold myself back?



I haven’t found Narnia yet, but I did find a few pairs of shoes I hadn’t seen in a while when I cleaned out my closet the other day. Cleaning and organizing my closet, bookshelves, kitchen and bathroom is how I work out problems in my head. It also kills a lot of my stress. What do you guys do to get rid of stress? I always need help in that area.

It also helps me find all the cool stuff I thought I had lost throughout the year. I found a few skirts and dresses I thought for sure I’d have to go to Narnia to rescue, some bracelets that got stashed away the last time I cleaned, and some photographs that I put away for a reason. I didn’t really accumulate as much stuff as I thought I did last year, though you will see some future posts on outfits, creative accessories and styling. I’ve embraced the eclectic and interesting patterns that I own, mixing and matching to make interesting looks. Trust me when I tell you, I have a lot more pattern in there than I do plain colors. Its fine with me, but tends to weird some people out. I don’t have a photo of it, but my favorite outfit of last month was a monochromatic look using cream and black. Polka dotted top, striped skirt with cream flats, and I mixed in a little maroon in the tights and sweater for a little pop of color. I’m sure I’ll wear it again, and when I do, I’ll post it here.🙂

My favorite purchase last year was my boots. I bought them at DSW for my birthday, and I’ve worn them at least once a week since.


Pretty rad, huh? I think they were a great purchase for a new year full of new adventures. Those boots were DEFINITELY made for traveling.🙂 .

This is going to be a big year and I hope that Y’all keep reading. I’ll be back later today with a book post….so stay tuned!


Happy New Year!


Stay nerdy, my friends.